I Am Mountain Tops

I have strong moments
And I have weak moments.
Strong like building shelves
And weak like fractured twine.
My spine holds me erect
But my head sometimes hold my gaze down.
I have strong moments
Like when laughter pours from my lips.
Or when I make left-overs into a four course meal.
I have weak moments
Like when my eyes are too sad to cry.
Or when I can’t find a lighter.
So yeah, I can be strong.
But I’m still weak enough to know what growing feels like.
My heart has shin splints.
My body has aches in every place my bones meet.
My feet are charcoaled ash.
My hands are forgotten love letters.
My hope is forever looking forward.
My past is always pulling me back.
I have strong moments
And I have weak moments.
Sometimes the moments meet one another.
The strong greets the week with a scrunched brow and solid hand shake.
The weak me curls like a fist trying to be a rock.
I am mountain tops;
Strong, but I have weak spots.

Leave a Reply

