day 11, 12, 13

11:
I got dressed today
In the same clothes I wore yesterday
Same grim on my face,
Chalk on my teeth,
And sweat in my palms
I got dressed today
In the same clothes I wore yesterday
Knowing damn well I was going to see the same people
No shame in this second day in a row swag
I got dressed today
In the same clothes I wore yesterday
But I’m not ashamed 
Because I changed my underwear

 

12:
Hello,
Spring
And all the allergies you bring with
I missed your light
Your sunshine
Your greenery
But I did not miss these tears
You see,
I’ve been sneezing every since the snow melted
I’ve been sniffing in synchrony to my heart beat
I’ve been snot-nosed running towards upper lip
Worried that I’d have to eat it if I didn’t find some Kleenex
It’s not pretty
But your blossoms are
And your warmth sure does feel good on my skin
I’m so happy to soak you in again
Even if I can only do it in between sneezes

13:
I’M most often hated for who I am.
LUCKY for me, I have positive self-esteem 
EVEN if you don’t believe me,
IF you say I’m immature
YOU haven’t seen me handle this kind of situation
SAY, have you thought about all I’m worth?
I’M not some dime piece or nickel
NOT that people like you even carry change.

Leave a Reply

