The First

Here is the first of (hopefully) a poem a day for a month. Happy National Poetry Month, people!

 

I didn’t wake up with the birds today.
It seems the birds have flown away again.

The sky was a cloud-covered gray today.
It seems the sun has gone and fallen in love with Winter again.

Spring time had fooled us,
Hopefully just because it’s the first of April today.
Yesterday I got to sit on a roof top again.

Yesterday my jacket rode in my passenger seat instead of around my shoulders.
Yesterday I was warm.

I wore a hat today.
My head was cold again.
I just want to feel the sun again.
If not today since it is now night,
Then tomorrow.
Tomorrow, sun, alright?

Leave a Reply

