Sunday

It’s Sunday morning
And from the looks of it,
It’s sunny.
From the sound of it,
The birds are happy,
Chirping,
Singing even.

I haven’t been outside since Thursday morning. Not really by choice but by necessity. An illness came my way when I woke up Thursday with a sore throat, head ache, and foggy mind. I didn’t mind leaving the middle school I tutor at early, but I did mind not being able to swallow. Uncomfortable is cold sweats and frustration is sleepless nights spent turning from one sore side to the other.

Some people blame the change of weather for sickness.

I blame my excitement for spring.

I haven’t been sleeping a lot. Not because I can’t, but because there’s better things to do. I stay up late because my friends do and I like to be around them. The bars seem to be filled with spring-eyed drinkers and summer-plan thinkers like me.

It’s the sun staying out past 7 that makes me long for an unexpected night. Right now I want uncertainty. I want clarity, but certainly not consistency. I want days to pass and nights to last.

Four days in bed and I’m about ready to run out my front door, down the street, and meet the sunshine with open arms and an open heart.

I’m eagerly awaiting summer. I would say spring, but spring is already here. It’s been here since blue skies became a regular and birds became my alarm clock. It’s been here since the snow piles decreased to little mounds of almost unidentifiable brown sludge. I can’t stop thinking of everything I have to look forward to.

I passed my elementary education test. I’m going to Denmark with two kick ass professors and a group of exploring students like myself. I return to the states only to wait a week then drive back to Rocky Mountain Village summer camp. I can’t say it enough. I can’t picture it enough but I’m so pumped for the future. 

Spring always makes me want to get into things. Explore things. Create things.

Spring is always new.

Leave a Reply

