What winter has taught me

Image

not only is my snowsuit freaking awesome, but it makes a good nest for Zeus, too.

If I have learned one thing this winter it is that, in order to enjoy the bitter wind and snow covered ground, I have to pull out my inner little kid. No one is going to look like they are enjoying themselves if they are walking in heals down an icy, frozen sidewalk (not that I ever wear heels anyways). However, if someone has an incredibly awesome snow suit like mine (4 bucks at Goodwill…SCORE!) then they will have a way more enjoyable time getting from one place to another in this frosty, freezy, snow land we call Michigan.

My snow suit is an extra large kids snowsuit, so it fits my waist perfectly and the arms aren’t even too long for me like they usually are when I buy clothes (I have really short arms, it runs in my family [thanks, Dad]). Although it fits a little snug in the crotch region, it has plenty of wiggle room. And plus, it was four bucks so how could I ever pass it up?

I took a late night adventure with a few friends a while back after the first substantial snow fall in Mt. Pleasant. There was even promises of building a fort, but a few days later the snow had already melted into brown freckled piles of melting ice/snow (yuck).

I was prepared in my one-piece snowsuit, way more prepared than a few of my friends who were lacking a few essentials of winter…like boots and gloves. I bought a nice pair of heavy duty snow boots last year but never got to wear them due to the lack of “winter” we had. I was oddly excited to get bundled up and actually explore out into the cold, cold world.

Now, I’m not going to lie, there might have been some liquid encouragement to make the trek into the cold, windy winter world outside of my apartment more bearable, but nevertheless, we made it into the woods and home again all without frost bitten toes or icicle tears. Image

Since the snow has (somewhat) melted and froze over again into a nice layer of slippery, watch-your-step ice, the bitterness in the air has gotten worse. I can’t even walk from my car to my door without my fingers and face freezing so fast that they burn. It’s awful and just a reminder of why I am not the biggest fan of the season we call “winter.” 

Although I had plenty of fun tromping through a foot or so of snow when I was geared up in my snowsuit, I don’t think stepping into it and walking to class would be viewed as “normal”. Now, I don’t need to be seen as normal because to me, normal is all relative, however, I’ve come across a dilemma…

If I do decide to wear my snowsuit just for the fact that it will keep my body warm, do I take it off once I get to class and suit up all over again after? Or do I keep it on all the way, as if I didn’t have real clothes underneath? Or do I casually unzip the top half and let it hang at my waste while leaving my legs warm inside of it?

I JUST DON’T KNOW HOW TO STAY WARM IN THIS FROZEN PLACE.

I’m over winter. Completely over it, but in order for me to enjoy it as much as possible, I realize I have to pull out my inner kid. I have to not care about freezing wind because being outside is exciting enough. I have to throw on my boots, learn to walk in them again, and then tromp my way through this winter with a smile on my face (closed mouth smile because my teeth will turn to ice if they are exposed) and just suck up my negativity when it comes to getting out of my warm, heated blanket covered bed in the morning. But I will whine until it’s sunny again, after all, isn’t that what kids usually do?

 

Leave a Reply

