back to school

With the new semester beginning, a cold brewing, and a to-do list that stretches across a couple of pages, I am finally settling into my new schedule. Since freshman year I have had classes 5 days a week (even when I didn’t have Friday classes, I had observations I had to do). This semester is very different from the past. This semester I only have classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Oh, and one class on Wednesday at 4pm (big wooop)…

I had it in my head that I was going to get up and get going Friday-Monday because I have plenty of free time. So far, that hasn’t exactly happened. In my defense, it was the first week of school and I had to get acquainted…

I’ve spent many mornings flat on my back, waiting in my bed until I mustered up enough energy to sit. Then I had to gather enough energy to simply stand out of bed on my own two feet, step into some pants and be on my way. Lazy isn’t a word I would used to describe myself. Unmotivated? That seems to do a little more justice.

When there is no need for me to do something, when it is simply just a good thought or an idea, it’s hard for me to actually get up and do it. Unless, of course, it’s something that really interests me…like…sitting around with my friends..going out to eat…or even just sitting by myself and listening to music. Rarely do I wake up in the morning and think,

“I can’t wait to do this chapter review!”

When I say rarely…I mean “never”. 

Not once have I woken up psyched about some homework I put off to the last minute (because along with no motivation comes procrastination). If I’m being truly honest, I was not mentally prepared for this semester to start..at all. I bought my books the second day of class, unlike a lot of people who shop online before classes even start. I didn’t even glance at a syllabus until the professor was going over it in class and I also couldn’t tell people what classes I was taking. Registration happens, what to me, seems like months before the semester starts, so with searching through course after course for availability and making sure they meet the credits I need, I tend to forget what I even signed up for in the first place.

Now, all this might make me sound like a terrible student, but I can reassure you, this semester I will be on top of my game.

I currently have only four classes. That makes me a full time student, but it’s nothing as heavy as a few semesters I’ve had in the past. I have ample free time (maybe too much) so I’m going to try my absolute best to fill that time with reading (text)books and doing homework. I would like to try and complete some homework before the day it’s due, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself. Procrastination is a bitch to tackle.

With my brain still on break and my body craving sleep, I had remembered in my 9:30am class one reason (besides learning, of course) I enjoyed going to class:

The people watching is OUTSTANDING.

I forgot how easy it is to observe when you’re shoved in a classroom that’s filled to capacity with chairs and people and counter space. All of which seem to be the same shade of gray/white under the fluorescent lights that are often too bright for my eyes to adjust.

There were some familiar faces, bored faces, lost faces, and happy faces as I looked around the room. I heard some people talking about the prices of books, their boyfriends, the bar etc. It was only until I really looked around that I realized I sat in the pinkest corner of the room. Now, let me explain…

The room was set up in somewhat of an inconvenient matter. The tables were all facing each other in a circle with the chairs lining the perimeter. There were two or three desks on the inside of the circle that no one wanted to sit in. I sat in a corner closest to the window surrounded by girls that were all wearing some form of hot pink clothing.

One girl, a jacket. Another girl, a sweater. A scarf, a hat, shoes, and even…here’s the best part…PANTS. Pink. Pants. I’ve never seen something like that worn on anyone over the age of 4, but to each his own. Now, yes, I am a girl. But by no means am I one of those girls whose favorite color is pink. I don’t do my hair before class or put on a face full of makeup ever. I don’t like drama and I don’t like unnecessary, petty comments that fling from the mouths of a lot of girls in my classes. Needless to say, this pink freckled corner is going to be avoided during my next class.

Maybe another corner of the room will offer even better people watching. Maybe I will hear some fascinating stories of world travels or something. All I know is anything will be better than that corner I sat in the first day. Finding a good seat in class is crucial for not only my people watching abilities, but for my attention span as well.

Too close to a window and I’ll be daydreaming about being outside all class. Too far back in the room and I’ll be paying attention to ever movement the people in front of me make. 

One time, last year, I sat right by the door. This was a terrible decision because a few classes were dismissed as my class was in full swing. People flooded the hallways and conversations boomed all while I was stuck in class trying to listen to some professor mumble on and on about Buddhism (which is actually really interesting when it doesn’t involve a lecture in a mono-toned voice). I couldn’t handle it. People are the best distraction there is. 

 

Leave a Reply

