weekly photo challenge: changing seasons

Image

This picture was taken a few months ago, probably sometime in August. I’m walking in a t-shirt through the streets of down town Mount Pleasant and not an inch of me is even thinking about “cold.” I was totally in the still-kind-of-summer mindset and as the sun faded every night, I got more and more aware of the weather that was about to come. I look back on this picture and long for the feeling of going outside without five layers on, thick socks, and a hat. There’s just something about warm air that fills me up with a certain lightness.

Now, last night I took a walk with my roommate, Hannah, and friend, B. We walked around the same street downtown for a little while and messed around with these face-in-hole boards they have up for the holidays. Needless to say, we were having a great time, and although I often complain about snow and being cold, there’s a different silence at night when there’s a blanket of snow on the ground. It’s rather fresh feeling to be crunching on tiny little snowflakes, packing them down enough to slip around at times. Last night was, for the first time this year besides the leaves falling slowly off trees, a visual reminder of the changing seasons.

Image

Something I do really enjoy about winter is how light the sky is at night. It’s always got a weird purple-grayish tint to it. I guess it’s a compromise seeing as the sun now sets pretty early, leaving us with only the dark sky to rely on for energy. This picture is an example of not just physical changing of seasons (the sky, the snow on the ground, the wet road) but it’s also an example of how humans influence the feeling of “changing seasons”. For example, the white lights strung through tree branches are only a glimpse of the holiday season. Personally, I think they should be left up all year long and we should ditch those nasty, way-too-bright over head street lights they just installed. You can see some of them in the pictures above, but on the street I live on, people came in and cut down a bunch of trees and replaced them with metal poles shining lights down for all to feel bright. I’d much rather walk down a street with trees than metal poles, but maybe that’s just me.

As I think more about changing seasons I realize that for one of the first times in my life, my friends are not changing with the seasons. In high school most of my friends were people I played sports with. As the sports changed, the friends changed. It’s just how it ended up working out. When you think about it, high school sports demand a decent amount of your time and you’re thrown onto a team, forced to interact with people you might never choose to on your own. Sometimes it’s beautiful, sometimes it’s a disaster. But now, without sports, or really time consuming activities, I can choose who I spend my free time with and I’m finding more and more lately that I’m surrounded by only a few people and I keep them close. I feel weird if I don’t talk to them everyday, but then again, I have had friends for years who I have random conversations with and then don’t talk for a few weeks, talk again and it’s like we never stopped. It’s funny how friendships can define themselves in that way.

Changing seasons always brings me back to the year before, when the weather reflected the scenery I’m gazing at right now. To think how much has changed in one year boggles my silly little mind. It makes me incredible impatient for the next year…and the next…and the next. I can’t wait to see where I end up.

One thought on “weekly photo challenge: changing seasons

Leave a Reply

