Yikes..

So you know how I said we were laying at our gate waiting to take off last night? We may or may not have fallen asleep and we may or may not have missed our flight. I woke up from my nap to find myself surrounded by empty seats. I stood up in a panic and told Hannah we missed our plane. It turns out there was a gate change so we ran to the other gate only to find there was a gate change there, too. We got to the final gate and the lady said, “the doors closed right minutes ago.” needless to say, I was a little bit upset about this and all I wanted was to be home. It turned out to be a good flight to miss though because I had ample people in Chicago I could have called to save te day. My grandpa was out the door as soon as I told him where I was and we waited no longer than a half hour for him to arrive.

Although it would have been nice to get home yesterday, I’m more than happy with an end of the trip visit to my grandparent’s house where we slept in cozy beds with fluffy comforters. We also got a hot shower and breakfast this morning so it worked out great.

Now we are waiting at our gate to board our final flight home…again. Our eyes are wide open an our ears are listening for any gate changes. We have an hour or so before we start boarding and then a quick hour long flight to Detroit where my mom and Hannah’s mom and sister will be awaiting our arrival.

Driving to the airport my eyes and brain were over whelmed. I don’t remember the last time I saw so many billboards and advertisements to keep my eyes busy. I didn’t even feel like I was in a car on a road. Everything was so smooth and bump free compared to any type of transportation in Africa. I thought things were weird in Kenya but they began to feel normal. Sara from the special school said she had friends that went home and had problems coping with the American way of life. They were there a year or two so I’m sure readjusting after only a month won’t be that difficult. I already sense the feeling of people’s urgency here compared to the laxidasical mind set in Kenya. It’s easier to be stressed here but it’s easier for my mind to be at peace at the same time. Kind of confusing lol but I don’t know how else to describe it.

Leave a Reply

